10 February 2014 11:57

NICOSIA – Former Foreign Minister Marcos Kyprianou is the new deputy chairman of Diko after a close leadership race at the centre right coalition party.
Former Health Minister Christos Patsalides was elected vice president, Marinos Moushouttas party general secretary and Phytos Constantinou organizational secretary.
Counting is still underway for the party’s executive office while the counting for the central committee will begin at 3.00 pm.
The elections were held on Sunday with the first official results announced at 2.00 am on Monday.
Diko President Nicolas Papadopoulos and the four new top officials sounded a note of unity, saying they would work together for the good of the party.
The first test comes as UN sponsored Cyprus peace talks resume on Tuesday based on a joint communiqué which Diko president has branded ‘catastrophic’. It is expected the party will decide whether to remain in the coalition government or withdraw its four ministers.
Kyprianou, son of the late president Spyros, received 5882 votes, to 5442 for Costas Mavrides, 4889 for Antigone Papadopoulou 1699 for George Constantinou and 350 for Yiannis Ioannou.
Christos Patsalides was elected vice president with 10,739 votes, defeating Paphos mayor Savvas Vergas who received 6342, Yiannis Aremeftis with 1039 and Constantinos Panayi with 244.
Marinos Moushoutas was elected general secretary with 6928 votes to 5118 received by Stelios Ieronimides, 3273 by Nestoras Nestora and 1804 by Themis Themistocleous.
Fytos Constantinou was elected organizational secretary with 12405 votes to 4355 for Avraam Solomou.


Weather from k24.net

Radio Stations


Cyprus maps

City Centre Maps